WHAT IS THIS COLLEGE YOU SPEAK OF?

I received a call from the University of Kansas at 8:09 PM on May 1st, 2014. I The caller called me to see how I was progressing in my college search. I told her it was going good, but I really meant to say it went well. Then I immediately regretted telling her that my college search was going “good.” I think she thought I was an idiot. The caller politely told me that applications for the school year of 2015-2016 opened on July 1st, and then told me that I could start on the applications this summer or wait a little bit. Then she told me that the scholarship deadline was November 1st. Then, after an awkward goodbye, my freak out about college began.

I feel sorry for my grandma because she had to experience me pulling at my hair and wildly gesturing at nothing with my arms while gibbering about college and grunting and groaning. She calmly told me to calm down and take a deep breath. Then she told me that she was insanely proud of me for doing so well all throughout my schooling career so far. I proceeded to cringe at her cheesiness and just shrugged and told her thank you. When I went into the living room and sat down, I started to freak out about college and the idea and cost of college.

I only recently decided what I wanted to major in college. I’m taking Graphic Design 2 this semester, and realized that I love creating art on the computer using programs such as Adobe Illustrator, Adobe InDesign and Adobe Photoshop. My road to finding out that I absolutely loved graphic design began in my second semester of my freshman year. I took Digital Imaging 1 that semester and then joined the newspaper staff at the beginning of my sophomore year as a designer, due to the goading of Mrs. Folsom. I then came back on staff my junior year as photo editor and a designer. Now, for my senior year, I will be the assistant design editor.

Even though I’m freaking out about college right now, I know that this time next year I will be fully prepared to enter college. I have faith that I will make the right decision in choosing the right college for me, cost-wise and major-wise.

 

Colleges I’m interested in as of May 1st, 2014 @ 8:45 PM:

  1. Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, NY
  2. Columbia College Chicago in Chicago, IL
  3. Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design in Milwaukee, WI
  4. University of Kansas in Lawrence, KS

 

Leave a comment